Yoga: the key to a healthy life

I can still recall the first time Maa held my hand to my first ever yoga class. Clad in a tee and yoga pants, I was pretty excited to learn a new thing. However, I was also skeptical about how much physical effort it would require me to do. I was never the fit and agile kid. I was skinny and shorter than my friends (I still am). So, my parents had decided to make me join yoga so that I would physically develop healthily and, well, be productive. (I led a very sedentary life as a kid; I still do.)

To my utter surprise, I found yoga not as physically strenuous as I had expected it to be. As I was more and more into it, I made it a part of my daily routine so much so that I practised even on off days. I enjoyed yoga. I never emerged as winner at championships, but I always took yoga seriously. As I went to the advanced levels, I found some exercises as really challenging to catch up with. Then there were studies and more studies and I do not remember exactly when I stopped attending yoga classes. Yet I never lost touch with yoga through Art of Living classes in high school.

I was admitted to college in 2015 and completely lost the habit of not just yoga but also exercising in general. Toward the end of 2016 when I had a session break, I realised that it was telling on my health and it was when I had a writer’s block that felt I needed a positive way to channelise my energies. So, I made a new year resolution to practise yoga on a regular basis. (I am one of those people who take new year resolutions seriously.) One of my friends advised me to use the products by Deivee.

Launched in 2017, Deivee is a women active wear brand. The brand ranges women’s active wear with the objective to ensure comfort during the work outs. In a nation where sanitary napkins are charged 12% tax while condoms are tax free, this brand is setting an example by making active wear more affordable for women. Not only are the products affordable, but they are also fashionable. Since I am hard on deciding what’s fashionable and what’s not, I really testified it from some friends who understand fashion better than I do.

Deivee is the brainchild of one of the most inspiring fitness evangelist and model of all time, the Iron Man of India, Milind Soman. He has advocated active lifestyle not just by preaching but by showing the way with the launch of Pinkathon, the only women’s marathon event in India.

2_d106eeea-e944-4ff0-92f1-7245ad742c16_large

Now that they had given me confidence about the brand, I bought some apparel from Deivee. The fact that they make organic yoga wear motivated me to try them out. In the movement against global warming, producers and consumers have something to contribute. Deivee ensures that their organic cotton comes from nature, directly from the hands of the farmers providing as many benefits as possible. All of their factories offer fair wages and follow strict welfare schemes. Since Deivee is doing its part, I though I should do mine too. I urged all my friends to try out Deivee and I have not received any negative feedback so far. They are all wanting more.

What I love the most about Deivee is that they have this conviction that there is a Devi in every woman. Deivee is derived drom the Latin word Dei and the Sanskrit word Devi meaning goddess. Gender is a fluid concept and Deivee actually helps women of all sizes and identities gain the confidence that propels one to stay inspired in life. It has collections for all body types – be it apple, hour glass, pear or rectangle. I admire this kind of inclusiveness.

Ever wondered why you’re getting obese? It may not just be your food habits as much as it is inherent in you. There are many types of people with different kinds of metabolism. Read more about it here.

While eating healthy and metabolism are two factors, you can opt for another way that has tremendous positive impact on your health. (Reminder: Quitting tobacco is the first step to a healthy lifestyle.) Start practising yoga and share this idea with your friends to make them healthy too. Sharing is caring.

As you age, you will realise the benefits of yoga. It ameliorates back pain. It relaxes your mind and body. Yoga also rejuvenates and makes you ready for work and all the challenges in life.

Yoga reduces stress and expands your leisure. It helps one reduce stress anxiety. What’s more, it is easy on the pocket because it saves you the money for a gym membership. So, if you want your friends to stay fit, suggest them to start yoga daily. Make it a part of their routine. Nothing is more blissful and fulfilling than setting out early in the morning with your friend, placing a mat on the grass and taking up a yoga posture while the sun rises.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

